So it is written that the Christ would suffer and on the third day rise from the dead

Luke 24:46

Palm Sunday begins our Holy Week as Christ was welcomed by crowds back into Jerusalem. Such love was shown towards Him, yet there were many who were jealous and disbelieved that He was God’s Son. Palm Sunday is the Sunday before Easter. The Triduum is the culmination of the Church’s Liturgical year… 

The Triduum begins on Thursday evening with the Lord’s Supper Mass, which was the beginning of the Holy Eucharist. This is the reason we celebrate Mass and marked the sharing of Christ’s body and blood for us all. The disciples were very scared and nervous about the events. This was the last meal Jesus would share with His Disciples and during the meal, Jesus predicts His betrayal by Judas. Christ washed the feet of His Disciples and they became the first Priests. As we are co- creators with God, we too must serve one another and work as equals to care for our common home. 

Good Friday

The Crucifixion of Christ

On Good Friday, we gather for the Liturgy of the Lord’s Passion- the events of such sorrow. Christ was betrayed and crucified on Calvary. Crucifixion was reserved for the worst criminals and Jesus was mocked and tortured. Jesus fell three times carrying the heavy cross.

You can see the Stations of the Cross virtually by watching the videos.

After Jesus was crucified on Good Friday, his body was taken down from the cross, and placed in a tomb. The tomb was sealed with an enormous stone and guarded by Roman soldiers to prevent Jesus’ body being stolen. When Mary Magdalene visited the tomb on Easter Sunday she found that the stone had been moved, and that Jesus’ body had gone. 

On Holy Saturday we wait.  We keep the Easter Vigil in anticipation. 

Easter Sunday

Christ is alive! We celebrate the Resurrection. Easter Sunday marks the end of Holy Week-a week after Palm Sunday. The wonderful news that Jesus came back to life and made himself known to His disciples gives us great faith, hope and joy. As we celebrate Easter and welcome new life and growth all around us at Spring time, we will continue to grow together in the great love that Jesus has for each and every one of us.

The Stations of the Cross

The Stations of the Cross are a Catholic devotion in 14 stages which commemorate Jesus Christ's last day on Earth as a man. The 14 devotions, or stations, focus on specific events of His last day, beginning with His condemnation. The stations are commonly used as a mini pilgrimage as the individual moves from station to station. At each station, the individual recalls and meditates on a specific event from Christ's last day. Specific prayers are recited, then the individual moves to the next station until all 14 are complete.

The Stations of the Cross are commonly found in churches as a series of 14 small icons or images. They can also appear in church yards arranged along paths. The stations are most commonly prayed during Lent on Wednesdays and Fridays, and especially on Good Friday, the day of the year upon which the events actually occurred. 

This year at Holy Cross, the pupils have reflected on the significance of each stage on Jesus’ journey to the cross and have responded through art and drama activities. 

The pupils from Y2 and Y6 produced responses in collage and pen and ink/watercolour which you can enjoy below.  Their artwork has also been included in the picture gallery on the Catholic Diocese of Portsmouth’s website which celebrates the work of the Diocesan family of schools:

Copyright © 2022 Holy Cross Catholic Primary School.